Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This question pops in my head, from time to time, and I don’t know how to answer it because there is so many different opinions about what makes you a real writer.

quote-Ali-Smith-you-never-know

This question pops in my head, from time to time, and I don’t know how to answer it because there is so many different opinions about what makes you a real writer.

This quote just about sums up what I’ve been thinking. I can’t just claim that I’m a writer even if I am, because I’m writing every day. I must have proved that I’m a writer, or better said, that I’m an author.

I have been working on my July Goals this week, that’s why this post it’s a little late. I had to tackle two of them in some way and I already know I didn’t ACE my final for System Design, this morning. Being honest, I didn’t do what my father always told me to do: Aim for the highest grade, if you deviate it won’t be by much. I’d waited too long and wasn’t able to finish studying the units that I needed to know so the result was somewhat expected, but welcome obviously.

The other thing I tackled was finishing the audiobook of “The Success Principles” by Jack Canfield, which I did yesterday night while I was resting my brain from units that I was studying late for today’s final. And today, after said final, I started to listen to “How to Write a Book and Become a Published Author” by Brian Tracy.

In this audiobook, Brian Tracy speaks about how he became a published author, and even when his experience is in nonfiction writing, some things do apply to fiction writing, so it’s going really good. And the reason I’m mentioning this here is because he said something that it’s related to this post topic, a quote from Elbert Hubbard.

The only way to learn to write is to write and write, and write and write, and write and write and write.

You may be telling yourselves as you read this blog post:

Lizzie that is all well but… When do you become a writer?

The short answer is that you are one already. The only thing that you are not, is a published author, which is completely different and comes with a lot more work, but being a writer is what you are. Since you started to jot down those ideas or little stories in loose paper at school, until this day and into the future, you ARE a writer.

Become a writer. Being a writer is in your own hands. No matter if you write during lunch breaks in your phone, or like one old man I saw once during a vacation, that came for a glass of wine and sat down at a table to write on napkins. No matter how, where or in what, as long as you are putting down words YOU ARE A WRITER.


I’ve just decided while writing this blog post, that I will share with you some links to Brian Tracy’s book that I’m listening to now. Also I’m going to share with you some other links about Writing a Novel on Amazon Kindle, some of which are Free right now, so you can go and start learning and improving 🙂

  • Audible – Amazon Kindle – The Success Principles by Jack Canfield
  • Link #1 ~ Link #2 – How to Write a Book and Become a Published Author by Brian Tracy
  • Free Amazon Kindle – 5 Secrets of Story Structure by K.M. Weiland
  • Free Amazon Kindle – Write Good or Die by Scott Nicholson
  • Free Amazon Kindle – I Am A Writer: A Story About Finding Your Inner Author by C.G. Cooper
  • Free Amazon Kindle – How To Write A Novel The Easy Way Using The Pulp Fiction Method To Write Better Novels: Writing Skills by Jim Driver
