Tags

, , , , , , ,

This week I’ve come to realize that I have a problem.

An e-book problem.

I'M A HOARDER OF BOOKS IN DIGITAL FORM

Yes, I’ve said it. Sue me if you like *looks at the reader* Well, not sue me, sue me. You know what I mean, right?

I’m saying this because my digital TBR pile it’s more than 400 e-books long. Trust me, when your digital library it’s so big that you honestly can’t tell where it begins and where it ends… You got yourself a problem.

pile-of-books

I’m not asking for help, mind you. I like being this way even though it drives me crazy when I have to pic a book to read next. Even when I have books that I HAVE to read because of various reasons like: ARC’s, books that author’s I love have just published, books of friends that are authors and I want to read their books to review, books I just want to read because of the fun of it.

I will give you an example. I’ve been reading The Present by Patrick Khayle for more than 2 weeks now, if I’m not mistaken. Why it’s taking me so long? Because I’m savoring every single word of that book. I love how Patrick don’t bore me with details when he writes them, for me that it’s massive. Very few books I’ve read like this in my life, another that I remember doing the same with is For Real by Alexis Hall.

I’m writing this post and telling you this because I’ve seen a lot of videos about reading slumps on youtube, and friends ask me what to read next because they don’t know were to start taking their TBR pile down.

We have so many options and so many authors to read about. There are series I’ve not read and my friends almost killed me when I told them my list of them. Why? Because we were talking about series like Harry Potter, Master of the Shadowland, The Dark-Hunters, The Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy, and so on. Mind you I did saw every Harry Potter movie that was out there.

My point is that sometimes we have to let our instincts take over and read something without the pressure. That’s why sometimes I end up reading short story books. To be even more honest with you all, most of the books I’ve read are not even in my Goodread list of read books. Why? I don’t know. I keep record of them since last year on my planner though, putting down the name and author the day I’ve finished reading it.

You didn’t know that I’ve read all Elizabeth Lennox books except her two last series, for example. I’ve never read a Nora Roberts book so far. Also, you don’t know I’ve read all of Lani Lynn Vale series in 2 weeks in *check her planner* February, and that I’ve not read the last 4 books in her new series. Details like those I just keep to myself. Again, why? I don’t know.

Sometimes I find myself reading and when I’m in the middle of a great book that I’ve just discovered, I start to worry: I’m not highlighting quotes, do I have enough for a review on the blog? What rating I should give it?

When it’s perfectly normal to worry about making a good review, sometimes I can take too seriously and that does not help with my reading. That’s why sometimes I just read and don’t think about quotes, about details, I just dive into the story and do what I want to do, get lost from the real world.

If you have a recommendation for me, being an author or series or book that you think I should be reading. Please let me know in the comments below. My TBR pile, even though it’s gigantic, it’s never full and never will be 🙂

BOOK HOARDER POWER TO YOU ALL!

 

 

 

