Tags

, , , , ,

cnw-participantOfficially, Camp Nanowrimo ended last Saturday at midnight.

If you got to you goal and won… Congratulations! You did a great job!

If you didn’t win but you wrote during the month of April, you also won. Why do I say that? Because you got words written that you wouldn’t have otherwise.

Something that I have learned from previous Nanowrimos, is that it’s really not the word count what matters, is the act of actually sitting down and writing the stories that are roaming around in our heads, those that nobody else but ourself can write.

So now that April it’s over and while we wait for the next Camp to roll around, what are we suppose to do?

I have a few suggestions.

  • Keep writing your project

There is a chance that you’ve reached the end of April and realise that your story that you’ve been working on it’s not done. You thought it would take 30,000 words (to give a number) to reach the end but you are not there just yet. Don’t stop. Don’t leave the story unfinished just because Camp is over. Guess what? You can and should write even if you are not participating in Camp Nanowrimo anymore.

  • Finish what you started… even if you left it for a while

You start Camp with all the right intentions of going through with it and have a story down in paper by the end of it. Now you look at the project that you started and feel bad because you left it for one reason or another and didn’t write like you thought you would. If you still got the itch to write that story down, pick it up and do it. It doesn’t matter that ig has been sitting there all alone, missing you, for weeks. Pick it back up and finished because, trust me, you will feel so much better when you do, no matter how long it takes… but don’t take years, please.

  • Go write something else

If you reach the point where the story that you were working on doesn’t appeal to you anymore. Maybe you didn’t write half the month of April because of that. I’m sure you have plenty of new ideas to write about, pick one and get on with writing it. Make sure to keep the copy of the previous story, even if you don’t want to write it anymore. You’ll never know when it may come in handy or if someday you would want to finish it. Better safe than sorry.

  • Jump from project to project, if that keeps you writing

I for one, like to jump from project to project, writing anything that it struck me fancy at the moment. I usually have  few projects open and a main one, so when I can’t even force myself to write on the main story, I go to the other side projects and spend some time there. It’s my way to love all my stories. If this is what keeps you writing, then do it, just don’t stop writing.

  • Start your novel already

You want to write a novel, thought about participating and then chicken out or life got in the way? Grab that writing tool of your choise and write. There is nobody else in this world that can write the story that you want to write. You know why? Because nobody knows what inside of your head, maybe not even you, but I bet my love for pasta that there is nobody that can write like you can, and I’m not talking about grammar mistakes and stuff, and you know it.

What about me?

I’m going to keep on working on a few projects. I hope I can finish one, because one of my problems is getting it finished. I feel like my characters can keep on living but I can’t keep up with them forever, so I need to learn to write “The End” and be ok with it being the end of that story.

The project that I wanted to work during Camp, has fallen by the way side because I thought I needed and outline so badly that I stop writing the story at some point. I don’t have an outline and I don’t have a finished draft. I need to remedy that, the sooner the better.

I do have some other side projects but I need to start finishing my novels or I will never get to the next stage, even less to the publishing stage. There’s a lot that I need to deal with to get to that point, but I will get to that point.

