Tags

, , , , , ,

I hope all of you had a wonderful Holiday Season and a terrific start for 2016.

Oh boy! How a good start it was for me and so far it’s still a good time even though the eating time it’s over but… there is leftovers, right?

We spend it with the family, not too hooked on the gadget and managed to actually have some conversations or two, laugh with jokes and memories of the past year and just enjoy the company of the people we love. And by we, I mean, my family and I.

This is a huge year for me and it doesn’t have to do with the fact that I turn 30 this year, which scares me like you have no clue. No, in fact, this is a year were a few big events are happening:

  • My graduation from university in October.
  • Finishing the first draft of the novel I’m writing *cofcofstuckcofcof* since November.
  • Me getting in shape *cofcofwishcofcof*
  • I hope to get my hands on a good job.
  • January 16th will be a year since I officially started this blog posting a few original works made by me in spanish.

So as you can see, 2016 it’s going to be a year full of events and if I want to keep up with everything I knew I had to start making some goals. The problem is that I didn’t knew the best way to do them or how to approach the subject itself.

I went to a lot of blogs during the last week of December and also YouTube Videos to learn about New Years Resolutions, Goals, etc. I did learn a thing or two but almost at the end of the year a video showed up in my feed from an author I have been following for a while now and she change my way of thinking.

I blame this on to Jenna Moreci. Yes, Jenna. This is all you’re doing! *breath deeply and sigh* Let me tell you guys, after watching her “Writing Resolutions for the New Year” and being a follower of her YT Channel for almost a year, I’m pretty informed about her Quarterly Goals idea and her review of those too.

You see, her idea is that to actually achieve your goals you have to give yourself a reasonable time and reasonable goals. She accomplish so much with her quarterly goals and I saw it happening that I said to myself:

Ok, Lizzie. You want to do this? Nah. You have to do this. So you better start thinking of goals that you can reach to get to those big stones that you HAVE TO tackle this year no matter what. No excuses. No reasons why you can wait a little longer. No more procrastinating. You HAVE TO DO IT!

So this is what I came up with.

quarter-goals-jan-mar

  1. Finish University!

  2. Get off my coca-cola addiction

  3. Public 1 book review post a week

  4. Public 1 writing blog post a week

  5. Read 3 books about writing

  6. Learn how to outline a novel

  7. Read 3 paperback books

  8. Lose 3 kilograms

  9. Portion control with foods

  10. Drink 6 glasses of water a day

  11. Exercise 5 times a week

  12. Write 100 pages of my current project

  13. Write 200 pages of my current project

After I finish with this list of achievable goals for the next three months. I thought to myself:

That enough? You think? You need more. You need another push.

So I picked a Word of the Year.

For those who don’t know. The Word of the Year concept is that you pick a word and that word it’s going to be your main focus for 2016. Most of your goals or resolutions are going to be revolving around that words.

At first I thought my word was just ridiculous but I couldn’t shake the fucker out of my head so I said “what the hell” and went with it.

I will explain the reason behind this choise of word. If you didn’t pick it up at the beginning of this blog post, I have to get my degree in October of this year. What you don’t know, and my parent’s also don’t know, is that I still have finals to face in February and March because I’m a gigantic chicken when it comes to take exams and because I failed at some.

So I have to FINISH those finals to FINISH university and get my degree.

That’s how the word showed up in my head and after that, I just added the fact that I want to have a first draft FINISH this year of the project I’m working on.

Lastly I want to FINISH the year with 12 kilograms less because Holy Cow! No… Really… I have so many problems to get clothes and other things that I just had a moment when I saw myself, I really did and said “How did I get this?” That just gave me the motivations to start exercising and eating more conscientiously.

What are your Goals or Resolutions for 2016?

Do you make yearly, quarterly, monthly goals?

I will be your cheerleader or your ANnOYING FRIEND if you want to be kept on track.

Let me know and I will be there!

 


jenna-moreci-author

Jenna Moreci is a new adult author, vlogger extraordinaire, nerd-incognito, and alleged cyborg.

She specializes in writing adorable, romantic goodness punctuated by moments of extreme violence and bloodshed. Her sanity is questionable.

Some of Jenna’s other talents include prolific cursing, spilling/dropping things, accidentally making people cry, and drawing.

 

Jenna’s book ~> Eve: The Awakening ~ Amazon

Jenna’s Twitter Account ~ Here

Jenna’s Youtube Channel ~ Here

Jenna’s Instagram ~ Here

